It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:57 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to make a mission
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:03 am
Posts: 324
Ok so for those of you that are interested in creating your own missions, here i will show the tutorials that i used to learn how to make missions.

I would highly recommend to use any tool and dpbo the missions that you already have in your MP cache and take a good look at them.

your MP mission cache is probably here:

C:\Users\yoname\AppData\Local\Arma 3\MPMissionsCache

Some of the missions we have played have a very nice and tidy file structure (spawnscripts in different folders an so forth) or will be messy (like mine)
you will also find the description.ext files and you will see familiar stuff like the mission description and other stuff.
jesters tutorial part 1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3gPC6hDOwY

here it will be explained the different files that are contained in the multiplayer mission.

you will also learn how to set the respawn.

the respawn point can me moved around, and can also be defined to be a vehicle.

Once you have learned this you must see this tutorial in order to learn how to spawn units. You dont ALWAYS have to spawn them in, but spawn points for AI in combination with body removal scripts will help the server FPS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTiGUg84D18

i highly recommend to look at craps units spawn scripts that are very tidy and follow the same principle described in the above tutorial. Again, if you want to see them, search in this forum or dpbo the mission. I CANNOT EMPHASIZE ENOUGH the importance of dpbo-ing missions and trial and error. I spent many hours just making the respawn work properly, but dont let that scare you, my mom drank a lot during pregnancy so that puts me at a disadvantage, it may be easier for you.


Things to remember:

AI in cities is bad news for server FPS because of their pathfinding, they will search ways around buildings and such. They also act even more retarded in towns.

you can use this patrol script that i find very useful:

http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?147904-Urban-Patrol-Script

Basically you put down the units and define an area that the AI will patrol. This saves time because you dont have to put down the waypoints.

START SMALL, and then start building upon a simple framework for your missions.

Now have fun and enjoy. Any questions, just ask me, Norris, Keeno, John, Soro, Whiskers, Craptakular, Jack. Basically everyone who has made a mission. But dont ask questions that could not be answered by simply googling or that already are described in the tutorials above.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 3:31 pm
Posts: 427
Plores you dont need the patrol script, just use cba, which we have used for years.

https://dev-heaven.net/docs/cba/files/ai/fnc_taskPatrol-sqf.html
https://dev-heaven.net/docs/cba/files/ai/fnc_taskDefend-sqf.html
https://dev-heaven.net/docs/cba/files/ai/fnc_taskAttack-sqf.html
https://dev-heaven.net/docs/cba/files/ai/fnc_searchNearby-sqf.html

Some examples that spawn an enemy squad, then they go on patrol or defend based on a co-ordinate:

Quote:
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Function file for Armed Assault
// Created by: : Craptakular
// http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Ambient_Combat_Manager_-_Group_types
// https://dev-heaven.net/docs/cba/files/ai/fnc_addWaypoint-sqf.html
//
// https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/setWaypointType
// https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/behaviour
// https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/setCombatMode
// https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/speedMode
// https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/formation
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

if (!isServer) exitwith {};


_group1 = [(getMarkerPos "Spawn3"), EAST, (configfile >> "CfgGroups" >> "East" >> "OPF_F" >> "Infantry" >> "OIA_InfSquad")] call BIS_fnc_spawnGroup;
[_group1, [20791, 6741], 500, 6, "MOVE", "SAFE", "YELLOW", "LIMITED", "STAG COLUMN", "", [3,6,9]] call CBA_fnc_taskPatrol;




Quote:
if (!isServer) exitwith {};


_group2 = [(getMarkerPos "Spawn3"), EAST, (configfile >> "CfgGroups" >> "East" >> "OPF_F" >> "Infantry" >> "OIA_InfSquad")] call BIS_fnc_spawnGroup;
[_group2, [20791, 6741], 600] call CBA_fnc_taskDefend;



Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:03 am
Posts: 324
yep! that too! but i still stick to the old version of your spawn scripts. cause markers are fun. and i find it a real drag to find the coordinates in the map and note them in an effective way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 3:31 pm
Posts: 427
pen and paper


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group